Raw Spinach and Leftover juice pulp Pesto / Pesto Crudista di Spinaci e Fibre

image

Hello everybody!

I’d like to share with you a delicious, easy and fast way to use the leftover pulp from juicing!

The traditional “pesto” was born here in Genoa, Italy, where I’ve born and I live. I think you know it’s made of basil, pine nuts, garlic, extra virgin olive oil and salt (and also grated parmesan cheese, but I use ground almonds instead!).

Well, you can also try a lot of variations, and this is one of mine! 😉

I hope you’ll like it!

Ingredients:

150 gr leftover carrot, spinach, apple, citrus and kiwi pulp

30 gr pine nuts

30 gr almonds (soaked for at least 4 hours, then drained)

90 gr fresh spinach

Sea salt to taste (I used 1 tsp)

Extra virgin olive oil as required (I used 6,5 tbsp)

Method:

Blend your leftover pulp in a mixer, then add little by little spinach, pine nuts, almonds and oil.

Salt at the end.

Use your mixer on and off, not to heat up because it would cause spinach to oxidize and it would darken your pesto, and heat would kill all the nutrients.

You can also freeze this pesto, and use it whenever you like.

I used mine for an amazing pasta (gluten free of course! Corn pasta!)

image


Ciao a tutti!

Vorrei condividere con voi un modo delizioso, semplice e veloce per utilizzare le fibre di frutta e verdura scartate dall’estrattore!

Il pesto tradizionale è nato qui a Genova, in Italia, dove sono nata e vivo. Penso sappiate che è fatto con basilico, pinoli, aglio, olio evo e sale (ed anche formaggio grattugiato, ma io uso mandorle macinate!).

Bene, potete anche provare moltissime varianti, e questa è una delle mie! 😉

Spero vi piaccia!

Ingredienti:

150 gr di polpa e fibre di carota, spinaci, mela, agrumi e kiwi

30 gr pinoli

30 gr mandorle (ammollate almeno 4 ore)

90 gr spinaci

Sale qb (io ne ho usato 1 cucchiaino)

Olio evo qb (io ne ho usati 6,5 cucchiai)

Procedimento:

Frullare le fibre in un mixer, poi aggiungere poco per volta spinaci, pinoli, mandorle ed olio.

Salare alla fine.

Usate il mixer ad intermittenza, per non scaldare perché questo farebbe ossidare gli spinaci e ciò scurirebbe il pesto, ed il calore ucciderebbe tutti i nutrienti.

Potete anche surgelare il pesto, ed usarlo in qualsiasi momento lo vogliate.

Io ho usato il mio per una fantastica pasta (ovviamente senza glutine! Pasta di mais!)

image

Leave a Reply

